Anyways, Friday, due to the Latin shenanigans, was a real mess. I was basically curled up in my room in a little ball of tears and Beatles music while trying to go over Latin translations (which, surprise, surprise, I did the wrong section of...hooray being in a mindset that allows me to read the syllabus correctly). Luckily, I get by with a little help from my friends. C and R came over and wanted to watch Office Space. Sorry guys, I was being in a funk so it took me a few minutes to go ahead and watch it, but it kinda turned out to be the nice little release I needed at that moment.
Saturday was nice and relaxing. I spend the day drawing out storyboards for my COMM 130 Project, which is about zombies. It's actually pretty awesome, but that's just my opinion. A friend from work and I came up with this idea a while ago, so I'm using it for my production proposal for COMM.
Saturday night was the amazing WXYC 80's Dance Party! I've never been to one so it was a lot of fun to get dressed up and prance around in ridiculous outfits listening to awesome music. Anyways, I didn't get home until about 2am, thus resulting in my missing Mass Sunday...whoops.
Sunday was equally as amazing, if not more amazing. Sunday was Amanda Freaking Palmer day! So, in the morning, I had Peer Advising Training which was interesting. I'm very excited about next year, it's going to be awesome. Anyways, I went home and did some more work on my proposal for the zombie movie, and then took a nap. Suddenly, because this seems to happen with every nap, my phone rings (I know, I know...I could put it on alarm only, but I always forget to). It's a friend from work asking if I wanted to go watch the game with her (I was unaware that there was a game...oh well). So, I went to her apartment where we put icing on two cakes she made earlier in the day and then "watched" the game. I think we both proved how girl we were because we couldn't stay away and the afternoon turned into a nap party. Within fifteen minutes of tip-off, we were both asleep. Luckily, we won. Hooray Final Four!!!
Anyways, I get back to my dorm and it is now approx. 7:55pm. The Amanda Palmer concert starts in 5 minutes. I quickly get ready and meet up with CK and we end up walking to Carborro, which isn't too bad of a walk, but we were a little late. Luckily, we got there just as the opening act was getting off the stage and Amanda Palmer was about to start. It was an interesting concert experience because unlike most other concerts, the audience was sitting down and just absorbing her performance. She came out and sang a song a capella which was a very interesting way to start the show and very enjoyable. She then went to the piano and took off pretty much all of her clothes (there was much rejoycing from the guys in the audience and a few of the girls). Amanda Palmer was very witty and humorous throughout the concert, spending a lot of the time talking to us about things she had experienced (for example, the fist fights between her opening band in Florida and then one of them passing out due to a cocaine overdose...) All in all it was a very enjoyable show and I'm sorry if you missed it...
After the show, CK and I hit the merch table and I got a really cute Who Killed Amanda Palmer t-shirt and a free face painting from this cray-cray* who travels around following the Amanda Palmer tour and does face painting for free. She also painted this big picture of Amanda Palmer which was amazing. CK and I then stood in line to meet Ms Palmer herself, and when we got there, she signed my t-shirt and wished AD Happy Birthday over the phone (sad, he couldn't go himself, but it was really awesome that she talked to him...totally respect artists more when they're really involved with their fans). We then walked home. The end. (Sorry, I suck at finishing stories...)
Amanda Palmer talking to AD on the phone after the Concert.
Thus concludes the Weekend of Doom.
PS- I'll probably not be going out anymore for the rest of the semester, sad, but hey, it's only 32 more days, right? Not too bad. Hooray studying!
*The term "cray-cray" is in reference to someone who is not technically crazy, but is just a little odd. I would never refer to someone who had actual mental challenges/diseases as a cray-cray.
OOOH OOOH! Teaser for the next blog post: How War Leads to Being Transgendered and Other Exciting Tales from a Monday of Mondays.
The cray-cray part made me lol literally. Ask Rosie, she'll tell ya. Also, Amanda Palmer's incessant use of Twitter was also quite notable.
ReplyDelete