Well, Spring Break 2009 is over and classes start up tomorrow. I'm considering dropping my Latin 203 class because I'm not doing so well in it and I'm not sure if I'm going to be able to get my grade up to a place where I'd want it. I'm talking to my TA tomorrow about it, but I need to make a decision ASAP because tomorrow the last day to drop! If I did drop, I'd just take the class again in the Fall after having some more time to look over this. Bah- I hate languages. All of them. They drive me up a wall! I feel like Spiderwoman over here!
Really, what is the point of having a foreign language requirement? Sure, having a working knowledge of another language could be helpful later in life, but when some people (such as myself) fulfill the requirement with languages that are not used or are very obscure, what is the point in requiring a certain level? If there is going to be a requirement for a foreign language, it should at least be a language that is still in use. Part of me just wants to be so done with Latin and is willing to just say to hell with whatever grade I get and just move on with my life.
Sorry- I needed to vent that out of my system.
In other news- I can't wait to start Bracket challenges with people! This week should be pretty fun. CK is organizing another bowling trip (hurray!) and on Saturday, some of us are having a movie-day/makeover party, where some of us will be dying our hair fun colors and others will be getting piercings. I will probably be doing neither because I'm chicken, although I do have some semi-permanent purple hair dye, so maybe. We'll see. I'm excited because I'll get to hang out with NB, whom I haven't seen since forever ago! Perhaps the movies will be sing-along type musicals (Moulin Rouge, Sweeney Todd, and Repo: The Genetic Opera?) .
Fourteen Days until Amanda Palmer in Carrboro!!!! :D :D
No comments:
Post a Comment