I love going to a big school like UNC. This is amazing. We win a basketball game and take it as a sign from some almighty creator that we must go out and light things on fire and tear things down and scream. Franklin Street was something unlike anything I have ever experienced. I have never been more excited and simultaneously afraid for my safety. There were bonfires everywhere where students just began lighting things on fire. They tore down the street signs. They tried to cut down the cross walk signals. They jumped on shop windows and awnings. We pushed, we shoved, we screamed, we did everything our mothers told us not to do back in Kindergarden. It was chaos and it was beautiful.
Did you jump over fire? I did. I screamed and pushed and shoved and acted like an idot and did things that I would never do in any other circumstance. I cheered when the Franklin Street sign came down. I pushed people out of the way to breathe. I screamed as loud as I could, hoping the boys in Detroit could hear me. It was amazing.

So, after we won, I ran up to Franklin Street and cheered and did all that. Suddenly, I dropped my camera! Oh no! Then, everyone rushed forward and I was pushed away from where the camera was. Even if I could have found it, at this point, it was trampled and broken. I continued to look, however, but alas I never found it. A few minutes later, however, I overheard a guy say "Whoa, how did you find this?" to another guy. I turned around and there it was! My camera! Barely damaged and missing a battery, but alive! I was so happy. **Later I learned that the lense cover had broken and the zoom had jammed, but other than that it is alright. Perhaps fixable, but maybe not. If not, I'm going to get a new camera this summer.
I didn't get home until 1:45 and didn't get to sleep until 2:30. This would have been fine becuase my 8am class was cancelled, but I had to be at work at 5am. Student Stores Clothing employees had to be there at 5 in order to stock all the National Championship t-shirts. I stayed for about four hours and then took a 45 minute break in order to prepare for my meeting with one of the Comm Dept Professors with Peer Advising. I retunred at 10 and then stayed until about 12:15, going to lunch and then my meeting. The meeting went really well and I'm really excited about Peer Advising next year. :D Returning to Student Stores at 2, I stayed until 3 when my supervisor advised that I go home and get some sleep so that I could come back later and help with cleanup. So, I went home, took a nap and then returned to Stores at 6:45 and stayed until 8:15. Yesterday was one of the longest and most tiring days I've had in a long time. By the time I got home, I was loopy and losing my mind. I'm so glad I got some sleep last night, though! I feel so so much better.
Anyways, I'm going back to Student Stores today to help my supervisor with web orders and such, so I'm excited. I'm going to make so much money this pay period...ahh! Totally worth everything!
Go Heels!
Teaser to next post: My thoughts on the Senior Basketball Class.
No comments:
Post a Comment