Friday, January 22, 2010

What a very Long Day.

It started at 6:30 this morning and is ending now, approximately 1:30am. A lot got accomplished today...none of it had to do with my homework or my zombie movie (well, a little, but it was rahter indirect). It's nice to every once in a while take a day and COMPLETELY ignore academia and focus on getting your own life together. Today, I accomplished this by rearranging my room, doing laundry, going to Raleigh, and purchasing/ assembling/ filling my new bookcase.

I started off the day at Student Stores, and was surprised to find out that I was not scheduled until 11 like I thought, but only until 10. I used this extra hour to get my laundry done and then start the demolition. See...our room was arranged in a way that was not the most efficient or effective way. After much deliberation and thanks to IKEA's awesome freeware room planner, RB and I found a way to make the room better. It gave us enough space to keep Wanda the fuzzy pink chair out in a semi-permanent position and we were able to get a bookcase.

This bookcase is amazing and I am so in love with it right now. It is dark brown and so cheap looking (hey, $30 from Target, what can you expect?) and AMAZING I love it! It is filled with my books which, until now, have been living in terrible conditions inside a big sterilite crate under my bed. But now, they are properly displaced and easily accessible...not to mention organized in a way that makes me feel good about the world.

The room is still in quite the disarray, but I have tomorrow to fix this problem. I have dedicated most of tomorrow to the task of finishing organizing the room. That being said, I am now quite tired and will be going to sleep. Goodnight!

Thursday, January 21, 2010

Despite what it looks like, I'm not in a mess right now.

So, in the past week, two people have pointed out that perhaps my appearance has started to change. Right off the bat, no, I'm not pregnant. I sincerely hope no one jumped to that conclusion straight off the bat, but might as well cover my bases, right? Anyways, RT saw me last Wednesday and said I looked "wild" and I certainly felt, well, not wild, but tired and completely out of it. Then, AC last night saw me and said I looked like something was wrong. Nothing was really the matter- I was a bit distracted because my animation project sat back at my dorm, unfinished and lonely, but I was fine. It was just strange because while things have been going down around me, I'd like to think that my face is a little more complicated to read than "Fun with Dick and Jane." Maybe it isn't...oh well.

I got rid of facebook last night. I really think this is going to be good for me because I need to make sure I don't get behind on my work, etc. Although, I still haven't heard back from some people about the Vagina Monologues, so I need to e-mail them and see what is going on there. Tonight after class, I will do my laundry. It is an absolute must. It's getting to be a desperate situation here. But it will get done, at approximately 7:00, just in time for my double-booked evenings of meetings, etc. Great. I'm not even sure if I'm going to go to any of them...none of them are that mind-crushingly important because I'm too busy to get involved with CPG this semester anyways. I might just chill at home and clean the room...which is actually what I really need to do because RB and I are rearranging the room on Friday and Saturday to make more space. Honestly, the layout isn't working at all and it's just a clutter magnet because there isn't enough space to make it work. Unfortunately, this means I'm lofting my bed, but I can deal with that, I suppose. I've had a nice semester w/o the lofted bed, so I can't complain too much.

Well, I should go...time for class. Have a great weekend, everyone!

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

How can so many things happen in only a week?

It seems strange that it was just over a week ago that I came back to the Hill because it has been non-stop stuff going on around here. Classes, seeing friends, some news I wanted to get, some news I didn't want, and some stuff that scared me to death. Okay, so most of the action really took place in a 24-hr period, but still!! How can coming back to the hill feel like so long ago????

In any case, hopefully this will not be an indication of things to come, because I don't deal well with having things get all settled and secure just to have them yanked from under my feet unexpectedly. Call me old fashioned, but I sort of like to have some level of stability.

One thing that was nice was that at the end of the crazy 24-hr period this past weekend (which ran from about 10pm Saturday night through 10pm Sunday), I went to Mass and Father Wall's homily was what I really needed to hear. It's funny how things like that work- I can't count the number of times that going to church after a bad day has given me exactly what I was needing. His message was about change (to have a MLK Jr. Theme), but it was much more than civil rights and remembering political oppression in our country. It was about change on a personal level and a spiritual level- a hopeful outlook that "the past will not be our future" and conversely, the future will not be our past. I think a lot of times, it is hard to remember that- we get so used to something, or the idea of something, that we have a hard time moving on or letting go of accepting it when it leaves. On the other hand, we cannot look at the worst of a past situation or present condition and resign to thinking it will last forever. Because our past is not our future, and our future will not be our past.

It was a rather excellent homily. Thanks, Fr. Wall.

"Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise."-Les Miserables

RIP Richard Volpe 1924-2010
.

Friday, January 8, 2010

Joys of Returning to the Hill

Well, after a speedy exit and a long and silent drive back to the Hill, I'm back!!! Woo!!! It is great to be back in the dorm and I am very excited about this coming semester. It shall rock. I was going to come back today, but last night, Dad came in to my room and told me that I had 45 minutes to pack and leave because there was (another) ice storm coming in.

So I jumped in the car and headed out, only to discover that my radio wasn't working. It was quite bizarre, but when I tried to fix it, the radio thought that I was stealing it (thanks, Anti-Theft), so it no longer works. FML. It's a 3.5 hour drive from my house back to the Hill, by the way. There was much singing loudly and many hypothetical conversations happening in that car. Anyways, I got back to campus safe and sound and this morning was allowed back into my dorm at 9am.

I then unloaded my car (still haven't unpacked.....) and took a nap (couch surfing is not the best sleeping conditions when it's cold and you don't have a blanket!). Then, I picked up my roommate, went grocery shopping, bought text books, and got my work schedule, which is fine and normal, though my boss told me that it was no where near the final version, so I should expect changes in the next several weeks.

Anyways, I'm going to go back to reading my awesome Animation textbook. If you get back to the hill and want to hang out, let me know!

Wednesday, January 6, 2010

Another Grand Adventure.

alright, so I'm going back to campus on Friday, and I am muy excited about this (Haha I've been practicing my Spanish, can't you tell?). I am determined to make this the best semester ever. Last semester was okay, but I am very much looking forward to this semester. Why? Because in May, the big question will be answered: Will she graduate early? I'm not going to lie, the options are still being weighed and the whole thing is still up in the air. I'm leaning towards one decision, but I'm not going to make any big reveal until I'm 100% certain of this.

Of course, this whole will she/won't she depends on whether tomorrow I am able to switch two classes for two others. I'm hopefully switing ENGL 580: Film Issues for Experimenal Film and COMM 452: Film Noir for Animation. I do very much want to take the English and Film Noir class, but I can take those later. I have been wanting this animation class for so long! :D


Alright, well, it is close to 2am and I think I should try to sleep, though I took a long nap tonight from 7 until 10:30 (10hr drive from Florida will do that to ya).

Goodnight and Good luck.

Monday, January 4, 2010

Back in the Swing of Things...119 Days and Counting.

Yes indeed, there are only 119 days until Summer and while some of you are groaning at this fact, I'm gearing up for one of the most hectic semesters of my life. I sometimes wonder if I do too much because I like what I do or if I do too much because I like being busy. In any case, I've had a lot to do recently and feel so much better than I did earlier.

Honestly, for me, sitting around is the most loathsome thing in the world- I need something to do or else I will go crazy!

And the thing I'm now working on is....The zombie apocalypse! Well, basically the gay zombie movie that I've been working on for a while. I need to get a script finalized (or at least in semi-coherent draft form) by next Tuesday. Luckily, I've already had some people express interest in helping me out (thanks, EP!) but I'm going to need a lot more! I know it's super early for this, but I don't like waiting on things, so, here is the basic cast list with descriptions, etc:

James- 21, fit and handsome, the "devoted" one; his world gets turned upside down when his boyfriend, Pete, gets turned into a zombie.

Pete- 20, slim and young looking, the "extrovert; " we don't see a lot of him as a human because he turns into a zombie pretty quickly in the film, so for the most part, he is a zombie and his main character motivation is to get his hands on as many brains as possible.

Lucy-19, the "silly" one; Lucy is madly and blindly in love with James and does a lot of growing up throughout the movie as she struggles to decide what the right thing to do.

Mike-22, the "villain;" Mike is the alpha male and wants to be in control of things. When he learns that James and Pete are gay, then he goes after them, forgetting the threat of the zombies.

Elizabeth-21, the "mother"; Elizabeth spends much of the movie trying to keep her boyfriend, Mike, from killing everything that moves. She isn't strong enough to stand up to him directly, but she does give her two-cents a lot. She also helps to comfort Lucy and James at certain times.

There are other smaller characters that appear for a scene or two and then we don't hear of them, like Dr. Reid and the Umbrella Man (he's fun), but for now I'm focusing on the main five.
Also, we need an army of zombies. Do you have what it takes to be in a zombie army? Of course you do!

Anyways, this project is going to be a lot of fun and I'm really excited about it. Let me know if you want to be involved, even if it can only be for a day (because that would help, too!).

Friday, January 1, 2010

Welcome to the New Decade (and Welcome Back to a Dying Art!)

Happy New Year, everyone!

For the third year running, I spent New Year's Eve at my Grandparents' house in Kissimmee, Florida. Mom and I headed over to Downtown Disney to see the shops and lights and to go see a movie. This year's New Year's Eve movie was The Princess and the Frog. It was precious and adorable and had a great message about hard work, etc. Should I do a full movie review? Okay, I've got an hour or so before I need to start making dinner, so why not.



The Princess and the Frog- 2009
Directed by Ron Clements & John Musker
Starring Anika Noni Rose, Bruno Campos, Keith David

The classic storybook tale is turned on it's ear in Disney's adaptation, moving the setting from far-far away to New Orleans, Louisiana. A young woman with a big dream (Tiana) knows the importance of hard work when it comes to accomplishing her goals. When she makes the acquaintance of Prince Naveen (who has been turned into a frog), she agrees to kiss him to turn him into a prince on the condition that he help her get the rest of the money she needs for his restaurant. Unfortunately, she turns into a frog, too, and they must go on an adventure through the Bayou and discover that what they want isn't always what they need (Did I mention this is a Disney Movie?).

What makes this movie spectacular is not the story, it's the art. Back from the dead, this movie is completely hand-drawn animation and it is spectacular. I have missed this so much and when it started, I thought to myself "This is the first Disney movie that I've seen in a long time." While there were some hiccups in the animation (a layer or two didn't move like the others in a few shots), Disney animators still got it.

The shots of the firefly swarm was spectacular and the black-magic voo-doo scenes were great. One thing that was missing in this film that Disney seems to specialize in is a distinctive style. There seemed at times to be too much going on and too many ideas happening to really flow. Color schemes could have been a little better (especially in the cemetery, where everything is dark and gem toned, suddenly bright primary-colored voo-doo dolls pop up and they don't match at all).

The music was, as to be expected, amazing. Unlike the animation, it was able to stay true to one style. Disney has always been a master at their music, so it really was no surprise. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Dr. Facilier had, without a doubt, the best songs and was, for the most part, the most interesting and well-developed/ well-executed character in the film. It the entire film had looked and sounded as polished as his character was, it would win the Animated Film Oscar (Sorry...I'm betting it's going to go to Up! this year).

Overall, this is definitely a film worth seeing for anyone who grew up in the 90's/ misses the old hand-drawn animation feel of classic Disney movies, but don't go in expecting it to be the next Beauty and the Beast/ Hunchback/ Aladdin/ etc.

Rating: B