Friday, October 30, 2009

Guess My Costume!!!

Okay, so tomorrow is Halloween....here are some pictures of my costume....can you tell who/what I'm supposed to be??



Hmm...were you right? You'll just have to wait until tomorrow night!

Have a great Halloween everyone!!!

Sunday, October 25, 2009

Time for a Change (and maybe a reality check?)


I need to make some changes in my life. I really do need to start taking better care of myself and learning when to let things be. For example, right now: I am sitting in my room (which is a complete hectic mess, though I am working on it) at 4:26am . Awake. Why am I awake? Because I've kept myself awake with the hopes of getting work done.

This isn't the first time I've pulled an all nighter. This isn't even the first time I've done it on a weekend. I think since this semester has started, I've pulled maybe six or seven all-nighters. Often, one follows another closely. Like this time. I pulled an all nighter the other night as well, staying up for 38 hours while studying/ doing work on a project, etc. While not sleeping is a great way to literally had hours to my day, I need to stop because it is going to drive me insane sooner or later. And sleep is good. I miss it.

There is obviously a lot more than just the not sleeping bit that is making me reconsider how I treat myself, but since it is 4:30, it seems to be the most obvious. Also, I do not feel the need to tell a blog how I'm not taking care of myself in extreme detail. It is boring, I would know.

So, starting tonight, I am going to start an effort to really take good care of myself- good night sleep, waking up in time to get a breakfast, etc. I've learned in the past two weeks that being good to oneself is not something that you can put off until it is more convenient. That mindset is equivalent to setting your curtains on fire and then hurrying off because you are late for a teeth cleaning.

Goodnight!

Friday, October 23, 2009

Sometimes, I just need a sign...

And a lot of times, I turn to iTunes for this sign. I've been super stressed recently, thought have tried my best to cover this fact up because I know everyone is stressed out and going insane. I think it's called life. Anyways, I've been going crazy over things that are both in and out of my control, which again is normal and a shared condition. But sometimes, even thought I know that it is a shared experience by most students this time of year, it's nice to hear someone (or something) else say that things will get better.

Now, what does this have to do for looking for a sign in iTunes? I believe that God speaks through iTunes when it is put on shuffle. Don't laugh because people believe in far "sillier" things than this. Anyways, tonight (actually right now), I turned iTunes on shuffle and it played two songs consecutively that gave me some peace of mind: the first is "Everything's Alright" from Jesus Christ Superstar. The second is Moby's "I'm Not Worried At All." You can't convince me that someone up there had a little smirk on their face when they set the iTunes algorithm tonight.

In other news:

I cannot make crepes. I learned this tonight because I tried and failed. Not once, not twice, but five times. I think I might need some sort of lesson because clearly my 25% French heritage means nothing in the kitchen (though I knew that long before this incident).

Upcoming Events:
Amanda Palmer Concert- 11/20
Yup, she's back! Same location as in January and even more excitement because I remember how amazing her show was last year. Hooray!

Emilie Autumn Concert- 11/29
Heck yes! The woman herself is coming to Carrboro for what is looking to be a fantastic show! I can't wait!

In conclusion:
A lot has been going on with everyone and with everything. Things are getting crazier than I would like and I'm starting to get that feeling that maybe I have once again bit off more than I can chew comfortably and with proper manners. Right now I am working on my proposal for "special projects" next year in Comm, still working on an endless line of projects for my current classes, trying to remind myself that I am actually taking a history class this semester, and on top of that just trying to exist. But Christmas is only 63 days away, which means 55 days until I'm done with exams!!!!!

Praise.

I understand that I'm rambling a bit and this is sort of chain-of-consciousness, but isn't that sort of what a blog is? Anyways, my history professor recently shared some music with us from WW2 (it's a WW2 history course), and one song stuck out to me. I think I need to start following it's advice:

Praise the Lord and pass the ammunition.


Thursday, October 8, 2009

Finally catching some breaks.


Happy Thursday everyone!

See this squirrel? This is a good representation of how I feel right now. Anatomy of Gray has ended, which means that I actually have a life back and have time to do things that I couldn't before- like sleep and do my homework, which will be a nice change and might even surprise a few of my professors. No...of course I did all my work during the show...I just didn't sleep. No really! Three all-nighters in one week, people! Crazy shenanigangs there. Never do that if you can possibly avoid it.

It had been a very stressful week which turned into an equally stressful weekend. See, my parents came in for parents' weekend and to see my show, which I really appreciate because I know they really don't like theatre stuff, so for them to sit through 2 hours of a play where I'm just running the sound board is pretty awesome. Of course, because my life is turning into an episode of "I Love Lucy," misadventures happened.

See, in the same building, there was a second show going on: Opus. Now, Opus is a very good show, but the subject matter was not something that my dad really wanted to condone. As fate would have it, my parents were accidentally escorted to see Opus instead of Anatomy. So, my poor conservative father had to sit through a play about gay chamber musicians for no reason. He was quite regretful after Anatomy let out to learn that he had gone to the wrong show.

Well, fine, that was all well and dandy, and they didn't get to see my show Saturday night. They were still planning on rolling out of town on Sunday, leaving me with all day to get my work done (something I desperately needed to do because I had a Comm 230 project due Monday!). Well, come Sunday morning, Mom has a brilliant idea- they would stay and see the Sunday night show and then drive back.

Okay, I just want to make it known to all readers that I really really REALLY appreciated what they were trying to do, but once they had agreed that they could/would do that (and omg drive all the way back to Boone at 10:30?! Insane!), I watched as all my work time flew out the window. Now, I'm scrambling in my brain to figure out HOW I'm going to get this project done because I've got another couple of hours of work before it is finished and really, this project would have been done last weekened but the TA wanted it in Final Cut Pro, which I do not have because I am a PC. GAHHHH!!! My mental state has now dissolved into something like this.
<---
So what's a girl to do? Well, I dragged my parents to Swain Hall to work on my project, that's what.
Now, this wouldn't be a compelling I Love Lucy episode withouth even more shenanigangs, right? Well, I get there and the Mac I'm on doesn't seem to want to print my project to tape. I finally give up and go back to my dorm and take an angry nap while my parents chill somewhere.

The show must go on and the show that inght was fairly good. My parents headed off to home and I headed off to Swain Hall, now armed with a CD of pictures and a jump drive and determination. Long story short, I got the project done and then went home. :D
Monday was a new (and therefore good) day, and now that the show is over, my life is significantly less stressed out. Have a good rest of the week everyone!!!