Wednesday, September 9, 2009

Things I've Learned (A 10-min study break starting at 2:25 am)

Greetings-I've decided to do a "Things I've Learned" because I really feel that this year has already proven to be a rather educational experience.

1) Though it took two years to learn, I finally realized for good that no matter what, I absolutely cannot study in a dorm room. I am now at the UL and have been studying for a good 4 hours (with occasional 10-15 min breaks) and I feel so productive! Granted, this is partially due to the coffee that I started drinking around 11:15 (it's still here- haven't finished it yet...hooray 16oz coffee!) and the supreme motivation of OMG if I pass this placement exam, then I don't have to take a lab science in college and that would be so fantastically wonderful! The exam is Thursday @ 4:30...prayers/ well wishes appreciated!

2) I think that the ability to photosynthesize would possibly be the most amazing super power of all time for a student...gosh, I'm tired...let me go sit in the sun for about 20 min and I'll be good for a while! Of course, it might require me to be green (like, literally green, not eco-friendly), which wouldn't be so hot, but hey, a light tint of mint might be alright.

3) Sufjan Stevens' Seven Swans album is the most wonderful study music around. I listened to it maybe 3 times before my iPod died and I relocated to a computer to use Pandora. It is so calm and relaxing and has some fun religious tones.

4) On the other hand...RT was correct- The Rocky Horror Picture Show soundtrack is possibly the worst study music. I can't help but to step out the Time Warp whenever that song comes on, or sing along with Tim Curry (love).

5) Drinking coffee slowly prolongs the effects and thus reduces the amount of coffee needed throughout the night. I still have maybe 6 good gulps left in mine, and while yes it is cold, it doesn't taste that bad.

6) If one is going to study in the UL at night, it would be wise to bring a sweater. It's so cold in here!!!! I'm sort of cool natured anyways, but dang, it can't be more than 70 degrees in here!!! A warm shawl might also help if a sweater is not readily available, though I wonder how many people have warm shawls and no sweaters...I'm sure someone does.

In Other News:

I got my first assignment at UNC-TV next week! Unfortunately, this conflicts with the first RCIA meeting, which is terribly sad, but this is just a one-time inconvenience so I think everything will be alright. Anyways, my task will be to run a camera for next week's pledge drive! Everyone who can/ wants to should watch it and be satisfied that at some point, they are watching me in action! Okay, so pledge drives are not exactly the "Grey's Anatomy" of television programming, but maybe if you tune in for just five minutes? Please? Actually, it doesn't really matter to me. Just tell me that you did. ;-)

In Related News:

I got my paycheck from the AT&T commercial today! It was very exciting...my first professional/ "work that is actually in my field" (aka not StuStores) paycheck. I should have taken a picture of it before I cashed it, but oh well. I'll keep the stub as a reminder...and maybe one dollar of it as my first "media industry" dollar earned. Sorry, I'm sort of happy about this and I know I'm rambling but hey, it's now 2:41am so I think that it is somewhat acceptable.

My new laptop is working wonderfully and now I will be able to upload the last of my pictures from Greece!! Though it might be this weekend before I get around to it because I sort of have things to do tomorrow/ Friday. But fear not! They will be up!!! ZOMG the new laptop also has a built in camera so expect an increase in video blogs since the whole uploading them from the camera step (quite honestly the most tedious part of the process) has been cut out.

So, despite the fact that I am celebrating my first all-nighter with my bio book and long and unimportant blog post, this has been a pretty fantastic week.

Okay, so its off to learn more about the exciting process of how cells release chemical energy! G'Night/ Good Morning!

No comments:

Post a Comment