Sunday, August 30, 2009

This is tuning up to be a very interesting year.

Ahh...the month of hope is almost at a close, but I guess that is how it must be. I'm not going to lie- I had a pretty amazing weekend and is seems so long because I don't have class on Fridays. So, let me begin my tale on Thursday, for that is really the start of the weekend.

After my last class (COMM 330 Intro to Screenwriting for the curious), I headed back to the dorm to celebrate my wonderful roomie's 21st birthday. She and her mother bough a most wonderful cake that was delicious (and as of my just now peek into the fridge, still there). Due to space issues and the fact that there were people in our lounge, we went outside for the cake eating. Once the cake was done, my roomie and her over-21 friends went to a few bars while I went back to the dorm and finished up the last of my homework that I had to really do. A bit later, CK came over and we went to the Mrs. D's welcome back dance.

I don't dance. I am the definition of awkward white girl trying to dance.

So, the dance was okay, but not the most fantastic time of my life. I think if there had been more people there I knew or if it just wasn't 500 degrees inside the room...the night was just sort of a bust, but that is alright. Not every night can be the night of your life. CK and I headed home after a little while and went our separate ways.

Friday was a pretty amazing day as well. After working the morning shift, I caught a bus and got my car to drive over to the UNC-TV/ PBS station in Durham for my facility tour and interview. Very exciting news: I got an internship!!!!!! This put me in an excellent mood for the rest of the weekend and we went out to dinner to celebrate at 35 Chinese. I wasn't feeling all that well physically becuase I really think that I am getting sick, but it was still a good time.

Actually, I was getting really mad at one of my friends at the dinner, but I had plans on talking to them later so I was trying to not let it show...I have no idea how effective this was. But c'est la vie, yeah?

We went back to RT's apt for a moment so that we could pick up a copy of Mary Poppins on DVD and then headed back to CK/CR/RB's apt to have an impromptu movie night. I love that movie. It is so wonderful! After the movie, we all sat around and talked for a bit until it was time for me to give RT a ride back to his apt. On the way, I sort of made it known that I was getting mad at him (really, it was quite trivial, but one of those things that at the time really bothered me). We ended up having a very good disucssion and then realized that it was 3am and we had just been talking and I still needed to go home. It then took me 45 minutes to get from Carrboro to Lewis Hall because I couldn't figure out how to get into the Cobb deck. I eventually made it and so everything was alright.

The next day, or really later that morning, my roomie and I went over to the library and had our training for the NC Literary Festival (Sept. 12th around campus all day COME!), and then I headed over to CK/CR/RB's apartment (hearafter known simply as the Apt) for an awesome study party. I came home for a little bit to tidy up and whatnot and then picked CK, LS, and two other people that are friends of CK up to go get some free chick-fil-a sandwiches with our student IDs and to go to the movie Taking Woodstock. The movie was alright, 3 out of 5 and a passable knock off of Across the Universe.

I had plans on spending the night at KL's place after the movie and had my overnight bag all packed- toothbrush and everything. I dropped everyone off after the movies and then went over to her place. There, the unthinkable happend (well, not really unthinkable, but just awkward). She, another girl, and some guy that I don't know decided that they just wanted to be naked. So they got naked. And I got awkward and certainly didn't have any intentions to drink myself out of the awkwardness, so I left and went back to Newman, where I planned on staying the night. I was just about fall asleep when my phone rang and it was CK, semi-insiting that I do not spend the night at Newman and that I could stay at the Apt. Seeing as the Newman couches are short and itchy, I took him up on his offer. The new plan was to head over to one of his friend's places and watch a new Godzilla movie (2008?) and then go back to the apt. By the time he got there, plans had changed and Godzilla was off, so we hung out with his friend whom we had seen the movie with at his dorm. It was pretty fun, but soon it was time to go and when we got to the apt, CR and RT were already there and I crashed on possibly the most comfortable couch I've yet to sleep on. It was a definite upgrade from the Newman couches.

I woke up this morning, RT gave me a ride back to campus, and then I studied and went to the library. Later this evening, I will finish up the last of the weekend juice by going to Mass. Thus concludes the weekend blogpost. I'll try to update more frequently through the week, but who knows what will happen?

No comments:

Post a Comment